Match Reports

South Junior B League [Round 3] 2012 Carrickshock 3-13, Mooncoin 2-11

Friday, 25 May 2012 at 11AM

Carrickshock 3-13, Mooncoin 2-11

Barrie HenriquesIt was a grand double for the ‘Shock men in their own patch on Sunday, having accounted for the challenge of the Glenmore soldiers in the Roinn B game some sixty minutes previously.

As in the previous game against Glenmore, this brand of Carrickshock hurling carried too much ammunition for a determined Mooncoin, who found themselves well out of their depth by the halfway mark.

Eamon Power and Eamonn Foley set the early pace for the winners with points before seven minutes had elapsed. Liam Walsh with a free halved the advantage, but a well-worked goal involving John Phelan, Eamon Foley and Sean Gibbons set up Mattie Hanrahan to slam home a fine score. While that effort was registered in the 10th minute, worse was to follow for the Mooncoin men five minutes later, when a dubious penalty was awarded to the Carrickshock men. Dan O’Brien stepped up to drive goal wards, and despite the gallant efforts of Billy Ryan to prevent the ball going into the net, the concession of two goals in such a short space of time was significant. The Carrickshock outfit grew in confidence with every subsequent passing minute. A third goal was slipped home by O’Brien in the 24th minute, and at that stage it seem ed that there was only one likely winner.

At half time Carrickshock led by 3-9 to 0-5.

Mooncoin were a busted flush by this time, or so it seemed.

Liam Walsh, Richie Doyle, and Liam Henebery worked their socks of to stem the Carrickshock tide. The Carrickshock advantage was pulled back to a manageable three goals by the 41st minute. A goal by Mark O’Neill in the 57th minute narrowed the gap still further to six points.

In honesty it never looked like Carrickshock would lose the game, and even though Colm Walsh got his hurley to a free by Doyle in the final few minutes, Carrickshock had bagged enough to see them through the gap safely.

The winners had fine players in Edward Power, James Gaule, Kieran Roche, John Phelan, Eamon Foley, Dan O’Brien Eamonn Power and James Moran.

For Mooncoin, Bill Ryan, Joe O’Hanlon, Eoin Crowley, Shane Walsh, Ian Dunphy, Liam Henebery, Liam Walsh, John Healy, Trevor Dunphy, Conor Brophy, and Colm Walsh did best.


Carrickshock: Dan O’Brien (2-5, pen goal, one pointed free); James Moran, Eamon Foley  (0-3 each); Matt Houlihan (1-0); Sean Gibbons, Eamonn Power (0-1 each).

Mooncoin: Liam Walsh (0-3, two frees, one ’65); Mark O’Neill, Colm Walsh (1-0 each); Cormac Fleming (0-3, one free, one ’65); Richie Doyle, Trevor Dunphy (0-2 each); John Healy (0-1). 

Carrickshock: PJ. Cuddihy, James Grace, Edward Power, James O’Leary, James Gaule, Kieran Roche, Chris Roche, John Phelan, Eamon Foley, Sean Gibbons, Matt Houlihan, Dan O’Brien, Pauric Barron, James Moran, Eamon Power.

Subs (used): Dara Fahy, Aaron Roche, Tommy O’Leary, Danny Murphy, James Dowd, Ger Power (blood sub).

Mooncoin: Bill Ryan, Joe O’Hanlon, Eoin Crowley, Conor O’Toole, Brian Meade, Shane Walsh, Ian Dunphy, Gerry Kirwan, Richie Doyle, Niall Dowling, Liam Henebery, Mark O’Neill, Liam Walsh, Trevor Dunphy, John Healy.

Subs (used): Niall McDonald, Cormac Fleming, Colm Walsh, Conor Brophy, Ian Walsh 

Ref; Julian O’Dwyer (Windgap)  

Developed by
©2006—2020 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!