Match Reports

Northern Junior B Hurling League Final [2012]

Saturday, 30 June 2012 at 10PM


O`Loughlin Gaels 0-17, Danesfort 0-14  

The O'Loughlin Gaels Junior B team retained their Northern Junior B League title when they beat Danesfort in a well manicured Clara GAA grounds last Friday evening.

The losers started the better and were two points to nil up after four minutes through Daragh Sheehan and ace free taker Stephen McKenna. O'Loughlin’s shook themselves and replied with three points, two from play through Evan Walsh and Billy Leydon and a converted free from Barry Hogan. McKenna (f) and Cathal O’Neill edged the Danesfort boys ahead again on the quarter only for Kevin Morrissey to equalise with a lovely point from near the sideline. McKenna converted another free which again saw a reply from the classy Morrissey. Barry Hogan threw over a nice point from play for the winner which was matched by a similar score from Danesfort's captain Johnny Ryan. Seventeen year old Paddy Deegan scored a sweet point for the city team on twenty three minutes, but it was the country team who finished the half the stronger with points from Michael Moylan and a free from Stephen McKenna to leave the score 0.8 to 0.7 in favour of the losers.

O’Loughlin’s, now aided by a strong enough wind, broke from the traps early and drew level through Eoghan Grant. The Fort men were then to enjoy their best period scoring the next four points, three from McKenna (1f) and Johnny Ryan. Billy Leydon took over the free taking duties and converted his first chance on 40 minutes. He added a point from play, as did Barry Hogan to leave just one point between the teams at the three quarter mark.

Colm Phelan executed the art of the sideline ball cut to perfection to score the point of the game but after this O'Loughlin's raised their game. Six of the remaining seven points went the way of the 'John's men through the eye catching Evan Walsh (2), Billy Leydon (1f), James O’Keefe, Paddy Deegan and Kevin Morrissey. Cathal O’Neill pointed a free for Danesfort. The Final score was O'Loughlin Gaels 0.17 Danesfort 0.14.

Not the most thrilling of finishes but that will not bother the continentals who will now meet the southern champions in a bid to retain the county league title won last year also.

Good for O’Loughlin’s were Michael Lambert, Stephen Tyrrell, Paddy Deegan, Kevin Morrissey and Evan Walsh. Danesfort have an excellent free taker in McKenna and had good performers in Johnny Ryan, Darragh Sheehan and Cathal O’Neill.

Teams; O'Loughlin Gaels Benny Cleere, Sean Hickey, Michael Lambert, Joe Walsh, Shane, Kevin O’Brien, Stephen Tyrrell, Padraig Meaney, Paddy Deegan(2),Eoghan Grant(1),Billy Leydon(4,2f),Kevin Morrissey(3),Barry Hogan(3,1f),Kevin McGarry, Evan Walsh(3),James O’Keeffe(1). Subs Cyril Stedmond, Chris Lamert, Stephen Hawe.

Danesfort Patrick Tynan, Paddy Hickey, Pa Dillon, Darren Knox, Ger Dunne, Jim Phelan, Michael Moylan(1),Darragh Sheehan(1),Cathal O’Neill(2,1f),Johnny Ryan(2),John Doheny, Colm Phelan(1),Tommy Ryan, Richie Devanne, Stephen McKenna(7,6f). Sub Jack Burton.

Referee Eugene Ryan [Fenian's]

Developed by
©2006—2018 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!