Match Reports

O’Loughlin’s v Erin’s Own Round 4 Kilkenny League/Championship 2012

Sunday, 15 July 2012 at 7PM

O'LOUGHLIN GAELS 1-14 Erins Own 0-17

The O'Loughlin Gaels senior team had to fight hard for a share of the
spoils in the penultimate round of the Kilkenny Senior Hurling League/Championship for 2012.
The city side started very nicely with
three good unanswered points from Niall McEvoy, Conor Bergin and Mark Bergin and were winning battles all over the immaculate pitch at Conahy GAA's impressive grounds in Jenkinstown.
However they needed a
goal on 58 minutes from county man Mark Kelly to edge them in front for only the third time of the game.
On the ninth minute Erin's Own opened their scoring with the first of five unanswered points through Martin Boran (3,2f), Conor Fogarty and Declan Dunne. O'Loughlin's kept in touch with a free from Mark Bergin and equalised through county minor David Burke on twenty minutes.

unerring Martin Boran converted a third free to edge the Comer lads ahead again as his side were beginning to take control of the game. O’Loughlin’s were under pressure and up stepped two of their Kilkenny
panellists, Mark Kelly and Mark Bergin, to put the city boys in front 7-6. On 28 minutes, man of the match, Damien Fogarty put the first of five long range frees over the bar to level proceedings which wasfollowed by full forward Anthony Owens pointing for the Castlecomerside.
Mark Bergin converted a free to level proceedings going for the
break. Half time 8 points apiece. Damien Fogarty dropped over another score in the 35th minute which was followed by a nice point from Peadar Boran. David Burke popped over his second score a minute later which was balanced by another score from Damien Fogarty. Martin Comerford, who worked hard all night,
finally got a result when he pointed from the 40 yard line. Mark Bergin landed a free to level proceedings with twenty minutes to
go.The Comer half back line were now controlling proceedings and over the next ten minutes Erin's Own scored four unanswered points, two frees from Martin Boran and two long range efforts from Damien Fogarty. Mark Bergin threw over a free to keep the city side in touch which was followed by a great point from substitute Jack Nolan to give O'Loughlins some hope.

Martin Boran and Mark Bergin swapped points, from play this time, to
leave Erin's Own 0.16 to 0.14 in front with just two minutes left.
Hardworking sub, Jack Nolan, somehow gathered the ball from a melee of players and soloed up the right wing and crossed a dropping ball in front of Tom Brophy in the Castlecomer goal. The alert Mark Kelly raced across the square and deflected the ball into Brophy's goal to put the city side ahead with only moments remaining. Both teams were now hurling with every last bit of energy they had . O’Loughlin’s conceded a free on their half forward line which was converted by Damien Fogarty to level proceedings. About two more minutes were played but there were no more scores.
The teams ended level ( O'L 1.14, E.O. 0.17 ) which was probably a fair result. Next up for O’Loughlin’s (6points) is a top of the table clash with Carrickshock (7 points) . For Erin's Own it's a clash with James Stephens who are both on 5 points. The winners of both these
games should qualify for the quarter finals of the knockout stages of the championship. However if teams finish on equal points it will
depend on scoring averages. Still all to play for. Best for O’Loughlin’s were Paddy Butler, Brian Hogan, Mark Bergin, David Burke and substitute Jack Nolan. For Erins Own they can be happy in the knowledge that they have a very formidable half back line to
launch plenty of attacks for good forwards like Martin Boran, Eoin Mealey and Robert Moran in an industrious attack.


O'Loughlin Gaels Stephen Murphy, Alan O Brien, Andy Kearns, Eddie Kearns, Paddy Butler, Brian Hogan, Niall Bergin, Alan Geoghegan,
Mark Bergin, Brian Dowling, Mark Kelly, Niall McEvoy, David Burke, Martin Comerford, Conor Bergin, Subs; Jack Nolan, Rick Leydon.
Erin's Own Tom Brophy, James Mullins, Pauric Keating, Peter O Donovan, Gerry Callinan, Damien Fogarty, Conor Fogarty, Jimmy Byrne, Aidan Moran, Declan Dunne, Peadar Boran, Eoin Mealey, Martin Boran, Anthony Owens, Robert Moran.

Referee [John Walsh Rower Inistioge]

Developed by
©2006—2018 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!