Match Reports

Iverk Produce South Junior A Hurling Championship [Round 3]

Tuesday, 24 July 2012 at 7PM

Barrie HendriquesThomastown 2-12, Carrickshock 1-10

This was an enjoyable encounter in which both sides showed considerable enthusiasm, solid determination, and not too little skill. Thomastown won because they had some sterling defenders, and a more direct, and forceful number of attackers.

Played in the excellent Grennan complex, the home side stole an early march on their rivals in the 12th minute when a very determined gallop from forty metres out, the powerful Michael Mahoney drove towards the ‘Shock goal. From a narrow angle, he hand-passed the sliothar to Garry Lehane  who had but to push the flying ball over the goal line. It helped the winners to a half time lead of 1-7 to 0-5, and in truth, one felt that Carrickshock would have difficulty in reversing the trend in the second half.

The sides were very evenly matched during the first half. If Thomastown looked the more threatening, it was due to the more direct approach work of players like Paud Caulfield, full forward, Michael Mahoney, and midfielder Adrian Burke. However Brian Donovan and Dan O’Brien continuously pressurised Thomastown at every turn of the road. Donovan’s take of three points kept his side in the game to the finish, while O’Brien contributed another couple after some very determined work. While the differential at the break was five points, the game was still well within the compass of the Carrickshock lads to win. But the dominance of Clarke, Moore, Ed Tennyson, and Sean Mahoney in the Thomastown defence was proving a very difficult rampart to breach.

But Carrickshock were not for yielding.

A ferocious early assault on the Thomastown goal from the re-start button saw Darragh McGarry stop a bullet. He repeated the dose within minutes. With those stops, Carrickshock were to experience the kind of disappointment that incubated defeat.

  They did have a go--- they never gave up, but a few moments of indiscretion, augmented by a Paul Barron goal from a penalty brought their spirited impetus to a halt before the game entered the final ten minutes.

Man –of-the-match, Colin Clarke did much to earn the kudos for the ‘Town, with a storming display at full back.

Brian Donovan gave his side a tremendous boost in the 43rdr minute when he sliced through for a great goal. It hauled the rampaging Thomastown back with a jolt. He followed up with a point, and now there were but two points between the sides, and the force was with the visitors. But two smart frees by Paud Caulfield within the ensuing eight minutes eased the Thomastown nerve. Then Barron’s free stunned Carrickshock, just when it seemed that they might get home in a grandstand finish. It was not to be.

Even though points by Richie Frisby, Dan O’Brien, and Niall Rohan still gave them a modicum of hope, it was not to be.  

As stated Clarke was the stand-out player on view. He was well assisted by Philip Moore, Sean Mahoney, and Andy Walsh. Paud Caulfield, was an excellent attacker, as were Michael Barron, Niall O’Meara, and Davy Prendergast.

Carrickshock had Ciarán Holden, Eamonn Foley, and Chris Rice as their marquee defenders, while John Power, Brian Donovan, Dan O’Brien caught the eye.



Thomastown: Paud Caulfield (0-8, five frees, one ’65); Paul Barron (1-0, pen); Garry Lehane (1-0); Michael Mahoney (0-2); Davy Prendergast, Niall O’Meara (0-1 each).


Carrickshock: Brian Donovan (1-2); John Power (0-3, two frees); Dan O’Brien (0-2); Richie Frisby, Paddy Mulcahy, Niall Rohan (0-1 each).


Thomastown: Darragh McGarry, Thomas Moore, Colin Clarke, Phil Moore, Ed Tennyson, Sean Mahoney, Andrew Walsh, Adrian Burke, Paddy Whitty, Garry Lehane, Davy Prendergast, Paud Caulfield, Paul Barron, Michael Mahoney, Niall O’Meara.

Subs (used): Rob Hanrahan, Ciarán Treacy.


Carrickshock: Steven Farrell, Seamus Millea, Ciarán Holden, James Grace, Chris Price, eamonn Foley, Richie Frisby, Damien Walsh, John Power, Brian Donovan, Ed. Dunphy, Dan O’Brien, Gerry Mulcahy, Paddy Mulcahy.

Subs (used): Ed Power, Niall Rohan, Sean Gibbons, Matt Holohan.


Ref: Ray Byrne (Glenmore).

Developed by
©2006—2020 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!