Match Reports

Erin's Own v Rower Inistioge 2nd round S.H.L. 2017

Wednesday, 24 May 2017 at 12PM

Erin's Own 2-10, Rower Inistioge 0-16
Erin's Own (Castlecomer) claimed their third point of the campaign when coming from behind to share the spoils with the Rower-Inistioge.
The Rower played an ace during the closing quarter of this senior hurling league tie in Palmerstown on Saturday when springing Conor Joyce from the bench.
In his first involvment in the action Joyce put fellow sub, Jim Ryan, through on the Erin's Own goal, but the North Kilkenny outfit somehow scrambled the ball away.
Later Joyce shot a brace of points from frees and he was involved in the lead point nabbed in the 59th minute by Ciarán Ryan.
Boran saves day
However, Erin's Own free taker Martin Boran saved the day following a foul on Michael Murphy when he popped over a 'gift' from 25 metres right in front of the posts with 61.50 showing on the stopwatch.
This was a tough, physical battle with sturdy defences on both sides making the opposition earn anything they got.
In an exciting conclusion both sides had a chance to win - and they were nearly beaten too - so a draw was a fair outcome.
The Rower opened backed by the fresh breeze blowing towards the clubhouse end. While they opened with points from David Kelly, a free following a foul on the lively Cathal Bolger, before Bolger himself registered, they were rocked in the eight minutes.
This was when Stephen Daly bagged a goal at the other end following lovely build-up play by Conor Fogarty and Sean Buggy (1-0 to 0-2).
The scene was set for a tit-for-tat affair as capital 'Comer defenders, Conor Fogarty, Conor Delaney and Eoin Brennan dominated at one end, and Kieran Joyce, Joe Lyng and Ruairi Galavan did likewise on the '40' at the other.
Gave chase
Erin's Own followed the goal with two points from Boran (frees), but the Rower gave chase and after John James Kelly picked off a pair of nice points and Pat Lyng added another it was all square at 1-2 to 0-5 in the 17th minute.
The scores were level twice subsequently, and at the break a 31st minute point from a free by David Kelly following a foul on Pat Lyng divided the teams with the Rower ahead0-9 to 1-5.

Conor Fogarty arrowed over a minor from a free within 90 seconds of the restart to level it. It was virtually score for score from there, with the teams locked together three times, the last at 1-9 to 0-12 in the 48th minute before things really became spicy in terms of excitement. Kevin Murphy won a hard ball for the Rower before shooting them a point ahead in the 49th minute.
The Erin's Own goal had the escape mentioned earlier then before Stephen Daly scored a delightful if unusual goal at the other end - sending the ball over the head of 'keeper and defenders from the right into the top far corner of the net - to get his side 2-9 to 0-13 in front.
If the Rower were hurt they didn't show it. They shot back instantly for a minor from sub Conor Joyce following a foul on Cathal Bolger. Then the same Joyce equalised via the same route following another foul on Bolger (2-9 to 0-15).
Awkward situation
An effort by Joyce from 45 metres on the left wing saw Erin's Own goalie, Tom Brophy, save the ball in an awkward situation just under the cross-bar, but the slotar wasn't cleared far. Ciarán Ryan claimed it, and then the lead point.
That set the scene for Boran to save the day with a handy late free, which was fair reward for the efforts of those mentioned, plus Aidan Moran, Michael Murphy, Stephen Daly and Eddie Brennan, who all put in a decent shift.
Other top performers for the Rower were Ciarán Ryan, Cathal Bolger, Sean Cummins and David Kelly, who shipped a bad knock during the first half.
SCORERS: Erin's Own - Stephen Daly (2-1); Martin Boran (0-3, frees); Aidan Moran (0-2); Conor Fogarty (0-2, frees); Conor Delaney, Shane Feehan (0-1 each). Rower-Inistioge - David Kelly (0-5, frees); Kieran Joyce (0-2, frees); John James Kenny, Cathal Bolger (0-2 each); Conor Joyce (0-2, frees); Ciarán Ryan, Pat Lyng, Kevin Murphy (0-1 each).
Rower-Inistioge - Paddy Lyng; Eoin Doyle, Sean Cummins, Shane Ryan; Ruairi Galavan, Kieran Joyce, Joe Lyng; Sean Lyster, Ciarán Ryan; Pat Lyng, Tom Murphy, David Kelly; Cathal Bolger, John James Kenny, Kevin Murphy. Subs - Conor Joyce, Jim Ryan.
Erin's Own - Tom Brophy; Liam Wallace, Conor Delaney, Niall McMahon; Ciaran Wallace, Conor Fogarty, Eoin Brennan; Shane Feehan, Rob Moran; Martin Boran, Aidan Moran, Eddie Brennan; Sean Buggy, Michael Murphy, Stephen Daly. Subs - John Dowd, Ross Connolly.
Referee - Gay Rafter (Threecastles).

Developed by
©2006—2018 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!