Match Reports

Under-15 Duggan Steel Roinn C County Final

Saturday, 15 September 2018 at 3PM

U-15 Duggan Steel Roinn C County Final
Conahy Shamrocks 1-12 1-9 Dicksboro B
Scorers: Conahy Shamrocks: Mark Gunner (1-10, 0-4 frees) Billy Mulhall (0-2).
Dicksboro: Declan Farrell (1-2), Kevin Moore (0-4 frees) Kyle Maher (0-2) & Mick Carroll (0-1 free).
Mark Gunner lit up the Duggan Steel Roinn C Final from the get go at a well appointed Ballyragget. 
Before a decent crowd the centre forward converted a placed ball after only 30 odd seconds play. 
Dicksboro response came through a Declan O'Farrell point which was quickly followed by a point from the Palmerstown outfits free taker Kevin Moore. 
A flash of brilliance saw a 11th minute goal from  Gunner after Jack Bergin found him in space. The centre forward quickly followed this up with a point from a free. 
This period of the game was a real saw affair with Kyle Maher and Gunner a point a piece before Gunner again popped up with a point. 
Moore fired over a pointed free soon after. 
Billy Mulhall & Maher swapped points before Conahy through Gunner made a decisive burst before the break making use of the elements to fire over a hat trick of points to leave it Conahy ahead 1-8 to 0-5. 
On the resumption Dicksboro cut the deficit on the 33rd minute when Mick Carroll landed a monster of a free from inside his own half.
The next score didn't arrive until the 42nd minute as both defences had gotten on top but it was worth the wait with a peach of a point from Mulhall out near the side line. 
A speculative free Carroll saw O'Farrell bundle the resulting rebound into the back of the net. 
Conahy responded with a Gunner pointed free which took the edge off the goal to leave it 1-10 to 1-6 as the game entered the last ten minutes. 
Moore pointed a free soon after to leave the goal between it. It was back out to four soon after when Gunner sent the white flag waving from a free. 
A Moore pointed free after a searing Farrell run set up a grand stand finish which was soon added to by a point for Farrell himself as the Palmerstown side was exerting huge pressure at this stage. 
A point from a Gunner ensured in injury time Dicksboro had to go searching for a goal for parity which proved to be the last score of the match as Conahy held onto for a famous victory. 
Conahy had a lot of fine performers in Mark Gunner, Billy Mulhall, Conor Duggan Jack Dempsey & Eoin Dunne. 
Credit must be given to the Boro whose decision to play with two split teams in the league was a come decision which led to the C team to put in a fine performance with Mick Carroll, Declan O'Farrell & Kyle Maher showing promise. 
Teams: Dicksboro B: Michael Clarke, Denis Dalton, Andrew Brennan Smith, Evan Rowe, Sean Keenan, Mick Carroll, Fionn McGarry, Kevin Moore, Conor Kavanagh, Matthew Kelleher, Declan O'Farrell, Kyle Maher, Peter Conroy, Sean Knox & Sam Tynan. 
Subs: David Mulrooney for Knox 33rd min. Thomas Cassin for Dalton 41st min. Luke Burke for Conroy 45th minute. 
Conahy Shamrocks: Joshua Comerford, Sean Dunne, Conor Duggan, Damien Cuddihy, Darragh Hennessy, Jack Dempsey, Kieran Brennan, Jack Murphy, Robert Ring, Brooklyn Sinnott, Mark Gunner, Eoin Dunne, Jack Bergin, Billy Mulhall & Jack Joyce. 
Ref: Sean McMahon (Erins Own) 

©2006—2021 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!