Match Reports

Intermediate Hurling League [Round 1] 2012 John Lockes 3-10, Mooncoin 2-12

Thursday, 24 May 2012 at 3PM

John Lockes 3-10, Mooncoin 2-12

Barrie HenriquesWhilst the first half of this first round League Championship game between age old rivals, Callan and Mooncoin was less than memorable, the second half was a product of completely different proportions. The first half was dour, nervous, and lacked direction, the second half had an abundance of considerable excitement, courage, determination, and pride. The far south men were headed by four points with less than nine minutes remaining, but a hugely spirited push for the winning post saw them come up a little short as the Referee blew the long feadóg.

Mooncoin support would feel that they should have had a share of the spoils, while the John Lockes lads would gleefully accept the two points on offer, and could, with a degree of conviction say that they did enough to win.

John Lockes were still at the races at the halfway break, but they were in some trouble trying to cope with the Mooncoin attack, especially on their halfback line. However on the resumption, they sited young County minor, Jack McDowell at number 5, and it was as a direct result of that decision that led to a John Lockes revival, and ultimately to the win.

Both sides conceded goals of the fortuitous nature.

Eoin Hennebry flicked one home for Mooncoin in the 11th minute, a result of poor defending. Jason Corcoran, who gave a man-of-the-match display at centre back, clattered home a free in the 40th minute, which should have been prevented. Another defensive mess-up in the 41st minute allowed Hennebery to grab his second major, while good fortune favoured the two John Lockes goals in the 48th and 50th minutes, scored by Dan McCormack and substitute, Brendan Grace respectively.

Mooncoin won the first half battle hands down, but they tired, and no better men than the John Lockes lads to exert full advantage from such a failing.

Mooncoin led at half time by 1-8 to John Lockes 0-7.

The winners shot four wides to Mooncoin’s two, and they shot four of their points from placed balls, two of which came from Jason Corcoran from ninety metres out.

The force was with the John Lockes in the second half, as they clattered their way into the final nine minutes with that four-point lead. They had a purple patch between the 46th and the 52nd minutes when they bagged two goals and two points without a reply from the Mooncoin men. The second Eoin Hennebry goal in the 41st minute featured the Mooncoin men at the head of the class, leading by a clear-cut 2-9 to 1-8. Under the very cold trying conditions, it looked ominous for the John Lockes chances of pulling the game out of the stewing pot.

But they did in no uncertain fashion, and by the 51st minute the take of 2-2 without reply had them in front by four points with the clock ticking down.

 It was all hands to the pumps as they defended with a ferocious will. Mooncoin forced the game into a one-point Mexican standoff, but try as they may they could gain the parity figure. Both sides missed chances of points late in that period from frees.

Besides Corcoran, Mc.Dowell, and McGrath, John Lockes had good foot soldiers in Simon Burke, Ger Shelly in the second half, and JP. Corcoran in the final quarter. Mooncoin got valuable contributions from Thomas O’Hanlon and Niall Mackey, Michael Grace, and Thomas Hennebry.


John Lockes- Jason Corcoran (1-2, frees); Dan Mc.Cormack (1-2); Simon Burke (0-4, three frees); Brendan Grace (1-0); Shane Bergin, Ger Shelly (0-1 each).

Mooncoin: Eoin Hennebry (2-0); Steven Crowley, Thomas Hennebry, Michael Grace, Ray Wall (0-2 each);  Ethan Ryan (0-2, frees); Seamus Kearns (0-1); D.Mackey (0-1, free).


John Lockes: Paul Morrissey, Mick Gordon, John O’Neill, Tony Delaney, Cathal Byrne, Jason Corcoran, Owen Mc.Grath, JP. Corcoran, Paddy Kennedy, Matty Holohan, Simon Burke, Jack McDowell, Dan Mc.Cormack, Shane Bergin, Ger Shelly.

Sub (used): Brendan Grace.

Mooncoin: Niall O’Hanlon, Thomas O’Hanlon, Niall Mackey, Tommy Walsh, Cormac Daly, Alan Walsh, Seamus Kearns, Mark Fitzgerald, Danny Purcell, Thomas Hennebry, Michael Grace, Stephen Crowley, Eoin Hennebry, Ethan Ryan, Ray wall.

Sub (used): D.Mackey, Niall Madden, JP.Purcell.

Ref: Ray Byrne (Glenmore).

Developed by
©2006—2018 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!