Match Reports

South Junior A League [Round 3] 2012 Ballyhale Shamrocks 0-11, Erin’s Own (Bagenalstown) 1-7

Thursday, 24 May 2012 at 4PM


Ballyhale Shamrocks 0-11, Erin’s Own (Bagenalstown) 1-7 

Shamrocks survive late rally and Bag’ points

Barrie HenriquesAlthough a late rally on home turf by Erin’s Own of Bagenalstown cut the margin to the minimum, Ballyhale Shamrocks deserved to win this Special Junior League tie. Largely, they played the more constructive hurling but nearly got caught through not etching periods of dominance on the scoreboard.

Again, conditions were bright and breezy (and initially to the hosts’ advantage). The visitors survived an uncertain start, not scoring until the tenth minute via an Enda Fitzpatrick free. Stephen Donnelly quickly augmented.

A James Carroll free had opened the opposition account on five minutes.The Shamrocks geared up. A strong midfield pairing won useful possession but uncertainty on frees meant this ascendancy was not pressed. Erin’s Own responded and goalkeeper David Harrington repeatedly had to be alert. The Carlow men also had a goal disallowed for a square infringement. Eóin Doyle stepped into Ballyhale’s freetaking gap. A productive five-minute spell before halftime saw him shoot a fine point and slot two dead balls.This contribution established a lead of 0-5 to 0-1 at the break.

Easy idea?

That the Shamrocks, breeze at their back, would pull away.

Home pride ensured no such story. Bagenalstown fought all the way, even after Stephen Donnelly in the 51st minute left it 0-11 to 0-5. A Roy Kent reply (54m) paved the way for a goal by James Carroll three minutes later. As Ballyhale started to skid, the same man added a free as the clock ticked. Fierce exchanges followed. But added time, a couple of minutes, was scoreless and the minimum proved sufficient. For the winners, David Harrington produced a terrific hour between the posts. Michael Dermody again led the way at full-back, with young wing-back Brian Butler doughty against a useful opponent.Willie Coogan and Eóin Doyle more than shaded midfield. Up front, Michael Carroll and Enda Fitzpatrick were busy and influential. Stephen Donnelly clipped two neat points.

For Erin’s Own, Andrew Townsend kept a capable goal. Centre-back James Geoghegan was a solid pivot, gaining best assistance from David Corcoran. Midfielders Paddy Kavanagh and Trevor Nolan improved as the game wore on. Best in attack were James Carroll, Christy Cody and Roy Kent.

Ballyhale Shamrocks: David Harrington, Keith Murphy, Michael Dermody (captain), Richard Deasy, Keith Nolan, Kieran Grace, Brian Butler, Willie Coogan, Eóin Doyle 0-5 (4f), Michael Carroll, Gavin Butler, Enda Fitzpatrick 0-3 (1f), Stephen Donnelly 0-2, Liam Grant 0-1, Dylan Doran.

Subs: Darren Mason for Dylan Doran (44m).

Erins Own: Andrew Townsend, Justin Dermody, Brian Horhan, David Miley, David Corcoran, James Geoghegan, James Doyle, Paddy Kavanagh, Trevor Nolan, James Carroll 1-2 (0-2f), Eóin Minchin, Roy Kent 0-3, Michael Walsh (captain), Dessie Dowling, Christy Cody 0-2.

Subs: Christian Dermody for Dessie Dowling (ht).

Referee: John Bennett (Tullogher-Rosbercon).

Developed by
©2006—2018 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!