Click on ad to see details



St. Pat's reach All Ireland Final

Monday, 23 January 2012 at 9AM

St. Patrick's, Ballyragget, qualified for the AIB All Ireland Junior Club Hurling Final thanks to a hard earned four point victory over Ballygar of Galway in Nenagh yesterday. The Kilkenny champions dominated the first half and led by 0-11 to 0-3 at the interval. An easy victory seemed probable when that lead was increased to a ten point margin (0-13 to 0-3) immediately on the resumption. However Ballygar cut the deficit with three pointed frees and a goal from Eric Walsh but could not reduce the gap any further as St Patrick's held out thanks to some impressive defending to win by 0-17 to 1-10. The Ballyragget team will play Charleville of Cork in he All Ireland final on February 11th.

Scorers for St Patrick’s, Ballyragget: Kevin Kelly 0-8 (0-5frees, 0-1 65), Joe Brennan 0-3, Brian Phelan, Brian Staunton 0-2 each, M Brennan, J Phelan 0-1 each. 

Scorers for Ballygar: Eric Walsh 1-5 (0-5 frees), D. Nolan 0-2, S. Lohan 0-2 (65's), P.Quinn 0-1. 

ST PATRICK’S, BALLYRAGGET: M. Gannon; J. Mooney, S. Staunton, P. Cahill; R. Healy, G.Brennan, S Roberts; B. Phelan, J. Gannon; J. Phelan (capt), S. Kenny, K. Kelly; M Brennan, B. Staunton, J. Brennan. 

Subs: C. Delaney for J.Gannon (53m), G. Morrissey for S.Roberts (58m), B. Mulhall for R. Healy (61m). 

BALLYGAR: S. Harkin; G. Brennan (capt), D. O’Malley, P. Mannion; B. Nolan, P. Mahony, E. Naughton; P. Quinn, J. Fitzmaurice; D.J. Nolan, D. Nolan, E. Walsh; S. Lohan, T. Finneran, C. Greally. 

Sub: N. Mannion for J.Fitzmaurice (48m). 

Referee: P. Casey (Waterford).

Play your Part


Supporters Ads #2
Developed by
©2006—2015 Kilkenny GAA
You are 
 visitor. Thank you!